video The Town of Oromocto is pleased to share with you its feature from the "Insights with Terry Bradshaw" television program.

Town Council

The Town of Oromocto is governed by a Town Council consisting of a Mayor, and 6 Town Councillors. The Mayor and Town Councillors serve for a four-year term, with municipal elections being held on the second Monday in May during the year set aside for municipal elections by the Province of New Brunswick.  Town Council is responsible for conducting the business of municipal government. This is done through a variety of meetings, including regular Council meetings, Council-in-Committee meetings, Standing Committee meetings, and other committee and board meetings.

Current Council 2012- 2017

Mayor Robert Powell
Ward 1 - Deputy Mayor Jeff Kirkbride
Ward 1 - Councillor Lorraine Dawe
Ward 2 - Councillor Raymond Henry
Ward 2 - Councillor Alex Zaporzan

Ward 3 - Councillor Sheridan Mawhinney
Ward 3 - Councillor Kelly Murdock

Ward Map

Click Here to view a copy of the Ward Map for the Town of Oromocto.


Municipal Elelctions are held every four years and are administered by the Province of New Brunswick.  For more information click here. 

Council Chambers

The Oromocto Town Council Chambers is located on the third floor of the Oromocto Municipal Building at 4 Doyle Drive. Fixed seating for Town Council, senior staff and media are provided, as well as plenty of room for audience seating. The podium has been designed to accommodate speakers and the entire room has a fully wired audio system and is wired for future audio/visual enhancements.

Council Meetings 

The Oromocto Town Council meets once a month in Regular Session on the Thursday following the third Wednesday of each month normally at 7pm and normally twice a month in Committee on the 2nd Wednesday and 3rd Tuesday of each Month at 5:30 pm.  Rarely meetings are rescheduled to alternate dates.  * Please note if any of our Council dates change, information will be provided in the news section of the website.


2018 Regular Session of Council Minutes
 18 JANUARY 2018
15 FEBRUARY 2018
21 MARCH 2018
19 APRIL 2018 
17 May 2018
14 JUNE 2018
19 JULY 2018
16 AUGUST 2018
18 OCTOBER 2018
2017 Regular Session of Council Minutes

19 JANUARY 2017
16 FEBRUARY 2017
16 MARCH 2017
20 APRIL 2017
18 MAY 2017
22 JUNE 2017
27 JULY 2017
17 AUGUST 2017
19 OCTOBER 2017
16 NOVEMBER 2017
30 NOVEMBER 2017 Special Session
14 DECEMBER 2017






August 16 2018

Regular Session of Council

+Submit an Event >View Event Calendar

Latest News
>View All News